MENU BFMS - Wednesday Dance

BFMS

Share

Wednesday Night Contra & Square Dances


The Baltimore Folk Music Society presents American Contra and Square Dancing at 8:00 p.m. to 10:30 PM every Wednesday at Lovely Lane United Methodist Church, 2200 St. Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21218. Admission is $9 for members, $13 for nonmembers. Under 21 and full-time students with IDs: $4 members, $6 non-members.

All dances are taught and walked through beforehand. Music and dance styles include New England, Southern Appalachian, and Celtic styles. Nationally-known musicians and callers appear regularly. These dances are sponsored in part by a grant from the Maryland State Arts Council.

New Dancers' workshops:
Free workshops introducing basic contra dance figures take place every Wednesday at 7:30p.m. Beginners are encouraged to attend. Contra dance FAQs.

Please see our Behavior Policy

For more information call the BFMS hotline at 888-646-BFMS or email amdance at bfms.org.

Directions to Lovely Lane Church

Facebook Group
Check our Facebook group for the latest information.

Wednesday, June 27 2018 
Mike Lentz calls to The Contra Rebels - Todd Clewell (fiddle, guitar), Barb Schmid (fiddle), and Henry Koretzky (guitar, mandolin).
 
Wednesday, July 04 2018 
No Dance on July 4th!
 
Wednesday, July 11 2018 
Anne Lutun calls to ContraForce -Andrae Raffield (fiddle), Jimi “Two Nails” Periano (guitar), and Joey Dorwart (hand/foot percussion, saxophone)
 
Wednesday, July 18 2018 
Melissa Chatham calls to Medicinal Purpose - Ryck Kaiser (fiddle),
Henry Koretzky (mandolin), Jamie O'Brien (guitar), and
Bruce Campbell (bass)
 
Wednesday, July 25 2018 
April Blum calls to Rebecca Weiss (fiddle), Andrea Hoag (fiddle), and Paul Oorts (guitar, mandolin)
 
Wednesday, August 01 2018 
TBA calls to Devine Comedy - Steve Hickman (fiddle). Marty Taylor (concertina, whistle), and John Devine (guitar).
 
Wednesday, August 08 2018 
TBA calls to TBA
 
Wednesday, August 15 2018 
TBA calls to TBA
 
Wednesday, August 22 2018 
Jacqui Grennan calls to Alexander Mitchell (fiddle), Larry Unger (guitar), and Ralph Gordon (bass).

 
Wednesday, August 29 2018 
TBA calls to TBA
 
Wednesday, September 05 2018 
TBA calls to the Baltimore Open Band!
 
Wednesday, September 12 2018 
The Too Hot Mamas (Janine Smith and Susan Taylor) call to the Dead Sea Squirrels - Craig Edwards (fiddle), Cathy Mason (fiddle), and Henry Yoshimura (guitar).
 
Wednesday, December 12 2018 
TBA calls to Eloise and Co (Waiting confirmation)