Baltimore Folk Music Society

Share

Wednesday Night Contra & Square Dances


The Baltimore Folk Music Society presents American Contra and Square Dancing at 8:00 p.m. to 10:30 PM every Wednesday at Lovely Lane United Methodist Church, 2200 St. Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21218. Admission is $9 for members, $13 for nonmembers. Under 21 and full-time students with IDs: $4 members, $6 non-members.

All dances are taught and walked through beforehand. Music and dance styles include New England, Southern Appalachian, and Celtic styles. Nationally-known musicians and callers appear regularly. These dances are sponsored in part by a grant from the Maryland State Arts Council.

New Dancers' workshops:
Free workshops introducing basic contra dance figures take place every Wednesday at 7:30p.m. Beginners are encouraged to attend. Contra dance FAQs.

Please see our Behavior Policy

For more information call the BFMS hotline at 888-646-BFMS or email amdance at bfms.org.

Directions to Lovely Lane Church

Facebook Group
Check our Facebook group for the latest information.

Wednesday, May 30 2018 
Steve Gester calls to Paul Oorts (mandolin, guitar) and Elke Baker (fiddle).
 
Wednesday, June 06 2018 
Greg Frock calls to the Old Time Jam Band.
 
Wednesday, June 13 2018 
Donna Hunt calls to Wombat Crossing - Carl Friedman (fiddle), Robin Wilson (flute, concertina, sax), and Charlie Pilzer (piano).
 
Wednesday, June 20 2018 

Caroline Barnes calls to Polaris - Rose Jackson (fiddle), Marta Bartholomew (fiddle), Sam Zakon-Anderson (piano), and Jesse Ball (guitar, hammered dulcimer, mandolin, accordion & feet)


 
Wednesday, June 27 2018 
TBA calls to TBA
 
Wednesday, July 11 2018 
TBA calls to ContraForce
 
Wednesday, July 18 2018 
TBA calls to Medicinal Purpose
 
Wednesday, July 25 2018 
TBA calls to Weiss and Oorts
 
Wednesday, August 22 2018 
Jacqui Grennan calls to Pending
 
Wednesday, September 05 2018 
TBA calls to the Baltimore Open Band!
 
Wednesday, September 12 2018 
Greg Frock calls to the Dead Sea Squirrels - Craig Edwards (fiddle), Cathy Mason (fiddle), and Henry Yoshimura (guitar).
 
Wednesday, December 12 2018 
TBA calls to Eloise and Co (Waiting confirmation)