Baltimore Folk Music Society

Share

Wednesday Night Contra & Square Dances


The Baltimore Folk Music Society presents American Contra and Square Dancing at 8:00 p.m. every Wednesday at Lovely Lane United Methodist Church, 2200 St. Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21218. Admission is $9 for members, $13 for nonmembers. Under 21 and full-time students with IDs: $4 members, $6 non-members.

All dances are taught and walked through beforehand. Music and dance styles include New England, Southern Appalachian, and Celtic styles. Nationally-known musicians and callers appear regularly. These dances are sponsored in part by a grant from the Maryland State Arts Council.

New Dancers' workshops:
Free workshops introducing basic contra dance figures take place on the second and fourth Wednesday of each month at 7:30p.m. Beginners are encouraged to attend. Contra dance FAQs.

Please see our Behavior Policy

For more information call the BFMS hotline at 888-646-BFMS or email amdance at bfms.org.

Directions to Lovely Lane Church

Facebook Group
Check our Facebook group for the latest information.


Event Dates:

Wednesday, January 25 2017 
Kim Forry calls to the Old Time Jam Band
 
Wednesday, February 01 2017 
Perry Shafran calls to Organic Family Band: Michael Raitzyk (guitar), Jakob Raitzyk (fiddle), Rebekah Gellar(fiddle), and Judith Gellar.
 
Wednesday, February 08 2017 
Kappy Laning calls to Taylor Among the Devils - Marty Taylor (whistles, concertina), Steve Hickman (fiddle), and Jonathan Jensen (piano, ocarina).
 
Wednesday, February 15 2017 
Emma Gorin calls to the Baltimore Open Band
 
Wednesday, February 22 2017 
Alexandra Deis-Lauby calls to Elke Baker (Fiddle) and Paul Oortz (mandolin, guitar, banjo).
 
Wednesday, March 01 2017 
TBA calls to Organic Family Band: Michael Raitzyk (guitar), Jakob Raitzyk (fiddle), Rebekah Gellar(fiddle), and Judith Gellar.
 
Wednesday, March 08 2017 
TBA calls to Rhapsody: Alexander Mitchell (fiddle), Marty Taylor (whistles, concertina), Ralph Gordon (bass), and Dave Wiesler (piano, guitar)
 
Wednesday, March 22 2017 
TBA calls to Backstep Cindy: Sandy Hofferth (fiddle), Howard Zane (banjo), and Joe Langley (guitar).
 
Wednesday, March 29 2017 
TBA calls to Dance du Jour: Alexander Mitchell (fiddle), Liz Donaldson (piano), and Ralph Gordon (bass).
 
Wednesday, April 05 2017 
Greg Frock calls to Laura Light Band
 
Wednesday, April 12 2017 
No Dance on Easter Week!
 
Wednesday, April 26 2017 
Ron Blechner calls to Callithump (not confirmed)
 
Wednesday, July 12 2017 
Woody Lane calls to Loose Shoes: Rex Blazer (fiddle) and George Paul (keyboard).
 
Wednesday, November 08 2017 
The Too Hot Mamas call to the Dead Sea Squirrels: Craig Edwards (fiddle), Cathy Mason (fiddle), and Henry Yoshimura (guitar).